What Constitutes "Ivy League"?

Question: Is there a process by which colleges can become considered "Ivy League" or is this designation more a matter of reputation?

It's highly unlikely that there will ever be more than the current eight Ivy League schools. For some perspective, here's an except from:

Keep reading Show less
Find Your Best Fit
Find your best fit college and track your favorite colleges.
Connect with your future classmates
Offer not stacking up? These articles may help
Expert advice and answers to common SAT and ACT questions