Admissions

Can D3 Student Accept Lacrosse Scholarship from Alum Group?

Question: Can a lacrosse player in high school receive a scholarship from the high school's alumni association for use at a specific D-3 college, contingent upon his playing lacrosse?

You've stumped "The Dean" with this one. I have never encountered this question before, and it's certainly a good one. Ordinarily, I would think that a Division 3 student should be able to accept a monetary award from a high school alumni association, even if it's contingent on his continuing with lacrosse. But … the confusing part is that this particular grant is intended for a specific college. This smacks of bending the rules that prohibit athletic scholarships at the D3 level, so it doesn't sound quite kosher to me. I suggest that you check with:

Keep reading Show less